WHO MiNDbank: More Inclusiveness Needed in Disability and Development

A database of resources covering mental health, substance abuse, disability, general health, human rights and development

Western Australia Health Clinical Services Framework 2014–2024

Health Systems Improvement Unit; Government of Western Australia Department of Health Country Resources General Health Strategies and Plans Australia, Western Australia 2014 Guidelines

This translation feature uses a third-party service. Please be advised that the machine-translated content may not be accurate. Translation only applies to this page and is not available for downloaded files or external links.



The WA Health Clinical Services Framework (CSF) continues to be the principal, government endorsed clinical service planning document for Western Australia’s public health system. The CSF is designed to describe medium to long-term horizons and the strategic parameters that can be used by individual health services, hospitals and non-hospital service providers to inform and guide their individual clinical service/s plans. WA Health has undergone significant change and reform since the CSF was first released in 2005.These changes have resulted in significant improvements in the planning and delivery of our health services across the State. What has not changed during this time is our unswerving commitment to providing the Western Australian community with:
1- appropriate, safe and quality care;
2- minimal duplication and the best use of resources;
3- equitable and sustainable services; and
4- a comprehensive and integrated approach to health service planning.

The CSF is completely refreshed at intervals of approximately five years and this latest (third) iteration covers the 10 year period 2014/15–2024/25. It responds to a greater than anticipated growth in the volume of demand for services, a change in the economic environment and recent and imminent adjustments to the configuration of services, including the opening of new facilities. In the WA Health Clinical Services Framework 2014–2024 (CSF 2014), the scope of the CSF has been expanded to include:
1- all country hospitals;
2- some private hospital providers;
3- non-admitted outpatient services;
4- a community and integrated services matrix; and
5- additional and updated service definitions.

In contrast to previous iterations of this service framework, CSF 2014 is more explicit in acknowledging the importance of disease prevention and control measures and providing care in the most appropriate place in any forward planning. To reflect the increasing importance of non-hospital services provided in the community, a major revision and expansion of the previous Non-Hospital Matrix has resulted in the inclusion of a Community and Integrated Services Matrix. In this suite of services as in all services provided in hospital, the CSF 2014 configuration continues to be underpinned by considerations of safety and quality in responding to the significant growth in demand.


WHO collates and provides external links to resources focusing on mental health, disability, general health, human rights and development but does not specifically endorse particular laws, policies, plans or other documents from countries or organisations. WHO also does not warrant that the information in this record is correct or refers to the most up-to-date version. Please read the site disclaimer for further details. If this record contains an error or is outdated, please notify us.