WHO MiNDbank: More Inclusiveness Needed in Disability and Development

A database of resources covering mental health, substance abuse, disability, general health, human rights and development

National Framework for Action on Dementia 2015-2019

Department of Social Services; Australian Government Country Resources Neurological disorders including dementia Australia 19 September 2015 Policy document dementia

This translation feature uses a third-party service. Please be advised that the machine-translated content may not be accurate. Translation only applies to this page and is not available for downloaded files or external links.



In August 2012, Australian Health Ministers agreed to designate dementia as the ninth National Health Priority Area due to the increased burden of disease and the rising prevalence of dementia in Australia. Recognising dementia as a National Health Priority Area creates opportunities to improve the health status and wellbeing of people with dementia and their carers. This National Framework for Action on Dementia 2015 - 2019 (the Framework) has been developed under the auspices of the Australian Health Ministers Advisory Council (AHMAC) following an extensive national consultation process involving people with dementia, their carers, families, peak bodies that represent them, clinicians and service providers. This Framework builds on the achievements of the previous National Framework for Action on Dementia 2006 – 2010 and aims to further improve the quality of life for those living with dementia and their carers. The purpose of the Framework is to guide the development and implementation of actions, plans and policies to reduce the risk of dementia and improve outcomes for people with dementia and their carers. It does this by drawing on current evidence to promote dementia friendly societies and delivery of consumer-focused care.

The Framework presents seven priority areas for action:
1. Increasing awareness and reducing risk
2. The need for timely diagnosis
3. Accessing care and support post diagnosis
4. Accessing ongoing care and support
5. Accessing care and support during and after hospital care
6. Accessing end of life and palliative care
7. Promoting and supporting research.


WHO collates and provides external links to resources focusing on mental health, disability, general health, human rights and development but does not specifically endorse particular laws, policies, plans or other documents from countries or organisations. WHO also does not warrant that the information in this record is correct or refers to the most up-to-date version. Please read the site disclaimer for further details. If this record contains an error or is outdated, please notify us.